John C

Reaction score
So my Places account was recently suspended most likely for a category violation. (I am a locksmith, and I had put "car keys" as a category).

I'm re-listing with a new account. I really want to do this perfectly right this time. I have two other issues that I'm not 100% sure about:

1. Suite # on Line 2 of address.

I had previously had this just tacked on to the end of line 1. Not sure if this had anything to do with the suspension but I'm following the guidelines to the letter this time, so I put it in line 2.

My question now is: Will this affect matching the address with existing NAP citations that I have in the old (all on one line) format? Should this even matter since my address is HIDDEN? Will it matter even if it's not supposed to? I don't think there's always an address line 2 available in citations.

I'm thinking the best thing to do is to just not include the suite # in citations. That way line 1 would always match up?

2. Google Voice number as main phone number.

From the quality guidelines:
"Do not provide phone numbers or URLs that redirect or ?refer? users to landing pages or phone numbers other than those of the actual business"

I had previously had a G Voice # as main phone number(local area code) and routed it to my cell number (which is from another area code). From what I've read using G Voice might be questionable. I've now changed my cell number to a local area code. Does it make any difference where the G Voice number is routed? I've considered my GVoice # to be my business # from the start. It's on all my business card, my service van, etc...

Would it be ok to keep the GV # as main number now that it redirects to a local number? Or would it be advisable to put my new local number as the main number and have the GV# as alternate?

Or does any of this even matter?

Not sure but I can't afford to lose the listing again, so I've got to be cautious.

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
LocalU Faculty
Solutions
Reaction score