More threads by studentoflife

studentoflife

Reaction score
I am a small electrical contractor, my service area is a bunch of small suburban towns. We are near a city, but we are not considered suburbs of that city. The town that my business is based in (hidden because I am a SAB) and most of the towns in my service area are in a completely different county as that city.

Lately I have been getting a lot of calls from that city, way more than we ever received before. I used to get maybe five calls per month from that city, now I’m getting five calls per day. And when we tell the potential customers that we don’t service that city, they tell us that we came up first on Google. When I looked in the MobileMoxie SERPerator using that city for the location and “electrician” as the keyword, I come up first in the 3-pack.

I assume this is because my listing has gained more authority over the years, which is making it do better in outside areas. I’ve been getting a lot of good reviews lately and I changed some things on my website.

Either way, is there a way to exclude my listing from coming up when people in this city search for me? I refuse to work there, and I hate having to take so many calls and turn people away. Soon I’m going to end up getting bad reviews from some of them because I could tell that some of them have a bit of an attitude when I tell them I don’t service their city.

Did you have your business in that city before?
If yes, did you change the verification address?

Did you have your business in that city before?
If yes, did you change the verification address?
No, I never had my business there, I’ve never been associated with that city in any way.

My business has always been in the same spot, never moved or re-verified the address

I have had my Google listing for almost a decade, it’s only within the last few months that I started ranking for that city.

ok, that means Google really likes your listing, in your case, is not a "good thing"