More threads by ARC

ARC

Reaction score
Hi

I am a Website Designer and I own a website. I bought a SEO friendly domain recently and I was just wondering if I need to build new website on it or I can just point my this domain to my old domain? How will that effect my GMB ?My old site is on GMB .

Will the SEO friendly URL increase my ranking ,what should be my best approach.
Any help is appreciated

Thanks,
Arc

Solution
@ARC, depends what you mean by "point":

1. As in forwarding. If you just forward (via your registrar) the old domain to the newly-bought one, that won't help your rankings.

2. As in building a site on the newly domain and adding some links to your old/current site. That may help you if the new domain itself has a good links profile. It could be another decent link, and in combination with good and relevant links from other sites might give you a small bump.

3. As in 301-redirecting the new domain to the old/current one. That will only help you insofar as the new domain has good links pointing to it (i.e. some link juice). If it's just a domain and doesn't have a solid backlinks profile in its own right, then 301-ing...
@ARC, depends what you mean by "point":

1. As in forwarding. If you just forward (via your registrar) the old domain to the newly-bought one, that won't help your rankings.

2. As in building a site on the newly domain and adding some links to your old/current site. That may help you if the new domain itself has a good links profile. It could be another decent link, and in combination with good and relevant links from other sites might give you a small bump.

3. As in 301-redirecting the new domain to the old/current one. That will only help you insofar as the new domain has good links pointing to it (i.e. some link juice). If it's just a domain and doesn't have a solid backlinks profile in its own right, then 301-ing it won't help you.

Solution