Reaction score
It can be difficult letting go of old tactics, especially if they are still working for you. SEMrush has provided 3 things Small business are still doing even though the industry is moving on.

3 Things Small Business Owners Still Don?t Understand About SEO & SEM

Search engine optimization and search engine marketing are two concepts that are often connected in the minds of many small business owners. While some of the strategies of SEO and SEM are interchangeable, each of these marketing arenas requires its own unique approach.The world of SEO and SEM has seen a massive amount of change even within the past few years. The SEO techniques and shortcuts that might have worked in 2007 are no longer effective.
As a marketer and consultant, I work with a lot of small business owners who, unfortunately, don?t seem to understand that the SEO rules have changed.

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
Bruce Bird Merging Places and G+ Local pages - and a few other things! Help & Support for Google Local 8
N GMB Q&A's only populating a few of the Q&A's that the business has posted NAP, Categories, Dashboard Data 13
L Significant google algo change in the last few days? Organic SEO 4
W GMB Listing Sank Over The Past Few Months Service Area Businesses 6
J Why Are There So Few Local Listings For This Query? Google My Business & Google Maps 15
B Removed: A few questions about reviews on Google Recycle Bin 0
A A few questions about reviews on Google Google My Business & Google Maps 23
Margaret Ornsby Few of goodies from State of Search (via twitter) Organic SEO 4
Rich Owings Client doesn't show up on map even though there are few competitors Help & Support for Google Local 4
B A few basic questions Google Local 101 4
Dustybones Mercury In Retrograde Makes us Mad for a few weeks. Break Room: Chat and Off Topic 1
vibhugauba Need Help With A Few Clients Google My Business & Google Maps 2