More threads by Travis Van Slooten

Solutions
Reaction score
I got a call yesterday from a small business owner in Hawaii. She was a total newbie to Internet Marketing. I actually LOVE these kind of calls (and clients) because I get a genuine kick out of helping people. And this poor women needed help desperately. My conversation with her demonstrates why building your website should be the first and only priority for any business owner wanting to market online.

This woman didn't know any better so she got sucked into some deal with a company that was charging her $350/month for a basic 4 page website that she didn't own. When she realized she couldn't afford it anymore, she canceled - but she lost her website in the process because it was owned by the company and not her.

Then she called Google to get signed up for Google AdWords Express. She asked the Google rep if she should have a website first. The Google rep told her that all she needed was a website of any kind and that the free Google sites would be just fine. She signed up with AdWords Express and proceeded to stumble through building a website on the free Google sites platform.

I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with her educating her on the very basics of Internet Marketing with my emphasis being she had to build her OWN website first and foremost. I told her that her website was her Internet Marketing foundation and that everything she does after that will build on that foundation. She thought a website was a website. Why did it matter that it was on Google's platform, she asked.