More threads by jonthefellow

jonthefellow

Reaction score
Hello all, happy holidays!

As we approach the new year, I've been thinking about business development, and where to concentrate my energies. My business has always been marketed as a residential remodeling business, but I've been a licensed electrician for a number of years. Looking back at my numbers for 2023, I realize that the electrical work ends up bringing in more money for less time than any other type of project. Especially as people transition to electric cars and green energy, needing chargers, service upgrades, solar installs etc seems like a good thing to market. I haven't really marketed any of these services online as of yet, mostly just getting this sort of work via word of mouth from existing customers, local realtors etc.

So my main question is: what's the best way to approach this? I have reasonably well-developed content on my website; not 'professionally' written necessarily, but articles that I think are genuinely helpful rather than the myriad of article-mill-grade websites I compete with in my area. ALL of that content revolves around specific aspects of residential bath and kitchen remodeling. I'm generally terrible at staying current on social/Google business, but I'm trying to be better this year.

So, when looking at adding electrical to the portfolio, is one of these a clearly better approach?

1. Start a new DBA, new web presence, new Google Business etc.
2. Add to current web site, perhaps "electrical division" of the company, something like that, then develop existing local channels to include electrical work

thanks for your help.
jon