More threads by hasesho

hasesho

Reaction score
Hello. I am a Japanese product expert. I often visit this forum and refer to useful ideas.

Last week, a local SEO agency in Japan introduced an opinion on a TV news program that “stores that reply to reviews on Google Maps are more likely to appear higher in local search rankings,” and it became a hot topic.

However, in my opinion, “having or not having a review reply does not affect local search ranking.” What do you think?

User engagement is definitely a factor.
Review replies are a potential closer argument. It's a good look on a profile in general. It does not directly appear to affect rankings.

However, I've recently seen some conflicting opinions as to whether profile owner activity in general is a factor. That may have been what that agency was actually motioning at/seeing effects from. Personally, I have not yet seen anyone actually share evidence of this so I'm still treating it as as "possible, but going to assume not a factor".

I agree that you should reply to all reviews, but I haven't seen anyone run a test specifically to determine how it affects rankings. Google support constantly pushes replying as part of their best practice guide, which I wouldn't read too much into.

There could be an indirect uplift in that responding to reviews gives the reviewer a sense of affiliation and is more likely to recommend the company. If someone has taken the time to leave a review, the least you can do is respond and say thank you.

User engagement is definitely a factor.
Review replies are a potential closer argument. It's a good look on a profile in general. It does not directly appear to affect rankings.