More threads by Jim Kittridge

Reaction score
Hey guys and girls,

I'm new to the forum but not new to the business. I've been doing local search and reputation management for going on 4 years now.

I'm always looking for new ways to get more clients. Specifically ones with adequate budgets. I've considered directly contacting business owners who could use my services but feel somewhat awkward about doing so.

Currently, I'm getting the majority of my clients from word of mouth. To get that started, I initially offered my services free of charge and just absorbed the cost and time. I looked at it as an investment and it has paid off.

What ways do you find most successful in getting clients?

Jim

Hi Jim,

You are are not comfortable contacting business owners directly hire someone who will. Post an ad on craigslist for a business development or sales person and offer them a commission for each sale they bring you.

Your other good option is to talk to companies that have complementary services to yours like like web development, marketing, or online video. But if you feel even awkward talking to those companies you may want to consider working for someone else who can bring in the business.

The first sales manager I ever hired had a hokey saying, "You have to circulate to peculate". If your not going to bring in the business hire someone that will.

Hi Jim,

Welcome and thanks for posting a great question.

I worked for free my 1st couple listings to build up confidence and some success stories too. Then I went right into positioning myself as expert in a niche (even though I was still learning.)

Then clients starting just contacting me, asking for my help. When you are perceived as an expert, price becomes less of an issue, you command a higher price and referrals come in. I never made a single cold call or closed a single sale. Here's a long post about how I started in part.

Jumpstart Your Local Search Consulting Business