More threads by j_holtslander

j_holtslander

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
119
A client originally came to us with a GMB group containing 37 places. One being their single office location, and the other 36 being practitioner listings.

Today I received an email from Google saying:
Your profile has been marked as a duplicate
[PRACTITIONER NAME], your Business Profile on Google has been marked as a duplicate. When you add a business that already has a verified Business Profile, your profile will be marked as 'duplicate' and won't appear on Google Search and Maps.
To avoid confusion, and to make sure the correct Business Profile shows up on Google, remove the duplicate Business Profile in your account today. If you’d like to get access to a profile that’s already been verified, you can request ownership of it.

Logging into Google as the client and going to Business Profile Manager shows the listing in question with a red icon and the word "Duplicate" and all the usual action buttons removed from this item's row. Clicking to view the place, redirects to the firm's main listing. All other practitioner listings are fine. I see no way to take any action to restore the practitioner listing that was incorrectly marked as duplicate.

What's the next step here?
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Moderator
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
4,571
Solutions
19
Reaction score
2,587
Once a listing gets merged into another one there isn't a way to unmerge them. Check to see if the newly merged listings actually performs better than the sum of the two previous listings. Sometimes that's the case.

When a listing is flagged as a duplicate that means the listing no longer exists, it was merged, and can’t be undone without creating a new listing. If this happens, and you now only have access to the “duplicate” in your GBP dashboard, you will need to request access to the listing that yours was merged into. If you already have access, review performance of the merged listing and you might need to consider creating a new GBP for the one that was merged into the main listing.
 

j_holtslander

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
119
Once a listing gets merged into another one there isn't a way to unmerge them. Check to see if the newly merged listings actually performs better than the sum of the two previous listings. Sometimes that's the case.

When a listing is flagged as a duplicate that means the listing no longer exists, it was merged, and can’t be undone without creating a new listing. If this happens, and you now only have access to the “duplicate” in your GBP dashboard, you will need to request access to the listing that yours was merged into. If you already have access, review performance of the merged listing and you might need to consider creating a new GBP for the one that was merged into the main listing.

Thanks. We've recreated it and are going to check and make sure all the practitioners are set as "Located within" the main business.

Also the previous agency Had made all the Practioner's listings have titles in the syntax of
"Firstname Lastname - Company Inc."
which is a bit keyword stuffy IMHO so we'll look into stripping those titles down too.
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Moderator
LocalU Faculty
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
4,571
Solutions
19
Reaction score
2,587
Also the previous agency Had made all the Practioner's listings have titles in the syntax of
"Firstname Lastname - Company Inc."

That's probably why they were flagged as a duplicate. Don't include the company name as part of the practitioner GBP name.
 

Login / Register

Already a member?   LOG IN
Not a member yet?   REGISTER

LocalU Event

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...
Google Product Exert


QRCode

QR Code
Top Bottom