Margaret Ornsby

Local Search Expert
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
503
Reaction score
231
Haven't seen one of these before... is this a new thing in the migration process?
2014-02-03_12-43-31.jpg

2014-02-03_12-43-31.jpg
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Thanks Margaret, was just getting ready to start another thread because I've been helping a few folks elsewhere, that are concerned with that email warning.

1st I saw a post by Tony McGreath on Google+:

"Last week I noticed a warning on all my Places entries saying I had to review them, or they may go. Today I got this email confirming their intentions.

Places is doing a clean-up."


He posted a screenshot of the email, like yours above. The wording seemed off to me and I wondered if this was even from Google at 1st but he confirmed it was a Google link and email address.

So next I checked the Google forum and reports were starting to come in there too, asking if the email was for real or a scam.

Here are the posts so far:

https://plus.google.com/u/0/+TonyMcCreath/posts/fY9J2GNUG5J (All his clients have the warning or you'll be deleted message.)

https://productforums.google.com/d/msg/business/l-PEgrlGCgE/-c_rjOpgqVkJ (I'm calling this the main thread since it was the 1st one, hopefully Google will update in that thread tomorrow if needed.)

https://productforums.google.com/d/msg/business/8XGjts98gwU/KrprpGbTJNQJ

I think maybe they are just attempting to clean up dormant or outdated listings.

I escalated to Google management, so they could check it out in the AM, but already talked to someone briefly and got confirmation that these emails are legit.

There is nothing to worry about and there is nothing wrong with your listings. You can just follow the instructions in the email and that will confirm to Google your listings are accurate and active. I may have more info to share tomorrow, but for now don't worry.

FYI from what I can see this is only happening with Australian listings at this time.

Will keep you posted if there is anything new tomorrow.
 

BrendanT

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Email from Google re deleting Places listings? WTF?

Howdy, long time lurker first time poster - anyone get this email attached today?

Seems like a seriously dick move on Google's part and a lot of wasted time and effort especially as the listings are verified....there's not even a reason why, just a "do this or we delete your stuff"

places.jpg

places.jpg
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Re: Email from Google re deleting Places listings? WTF?

Howdy, long time lurker first time poster - anyone get this email attached today?

Seems like a seriously dick move on Google's part and a lot of wasted time and effort especially as the listings are verified....there's not even a reason why, just a "do this or we delete your stuff"

Hi Brenden, welcome and thanks for posting.

I've been helping folks with this issue here and at the Google forum. Please see my reply in this thread.

Is this new? Google May Delete Your Places Listing?

BUT I had not seen that subject line on the other screenshots.

"Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing."

HARSH!
:confused:

=================================================

I'm going to merge your post into that one so we keep everything in one place. I've alerted Google to this issue and don't want them to miss any feedback/concerns, so best if I combine threads.
 

BrendanT

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Thanks Linda - sorry didn't see the existing thread.

Bit of a nightmare move on behalf on Google's part..going to take a stab and guess this is to cleanup a dbase mess left from their integration with yellowpages in the past. Have always had dupe and NAP consistency issues due to Google's integration with yellowpages in australia....you clean up dupes then 6 weeks later because the yellowpages directory is a disaster, the dupes with incorrect NAP and details get recreated
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
No worries about the other thread Brendan. Too many here to keep track of. :)

Treebles, one of the other Google TC's just emailed me that he thought maybe the same thing. I don't deal with international so wasn't aware, but it makes sense.

Some consultants like Margaret above and others are happy and think this is a good move because it will clear some of old dormant or bad scraped listings out.
 

RobinOctane

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
129
Reaction score
15
So I guess I need to login into all my Places listings and check for these?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Robin, only if you have clients in Australia.

But yes for those that do have Assie clients you need to log in and check.

Tony said ALL his clients had the warning in the dashboard, but only one of them got the email warning.

Here is a post I just found that Tony did several days ago about the warning banner in dash on all his clients. But he only got email for one client.
 

BrendanT

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
27
Reaction score
4
Seems that the powered by Sensis/Yellowpages stuff has disppeared from Maps and Places so really hoping this is google cleaning up that shitty integration.....its created so many headaches over the years will be happy to be rid of it

More on the poor integration: Is Google’s Australian Data Partner Spamming Places for $11 a Listing? | Understanding Google Places & Local Search

Interesting that Bing Places has recently been made available in Australia too and previously all data there came from Yellowpages...maybe sensis started asking for too much $$$ to scrape their listings
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Google just made their 1st public comment about the issue. I just got the head's up about it from Jade.

Here is the post at the Google and your Business forum - by Jade.

"We are making some changes to Google Places for Business and Google Maps so we can continue providing people with the best experience when they?re looking for local businesses. As part of this process, we?re asking business owners to review and confirm some of the information in their Google Places accounts so we can keep showing it to Google users. We know this will be a few extra steps for merchants, and we apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your time.

We have sent business owners affected by these changes an email entitled ?Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing?.

If you did receive this email, don?t worry. Please log into Places for Business, take a look at your business information, update it if necessary, and click ?Submit.? You?ll need to do this for all listings in your account by February 21, 2014, so they can stay on Google Maps. Otherwise, you?ll need to add your business information and undergo PIN verification using Google Places again.

If you have any trouble going through the above steps or need assistance updating your business information, please send us an email, and we?ll gladly assist you.

Thanks again for your time.

Jade Wang, Google Business Community Manager"
 

freerunr

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
115
Reaction score
43

We have sent business owners affected by these changes an email entitled ?Action Required: You have 3 weeks to save your Google Places Listing?.

Any indication yet as to who all truly is affected? We were wondering if it was those who still have listings in the old Places dashboard. Or did Google pick a date where any listings that haven't been touched since then are being removed?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Hi Kerry, so far the only listings affected are in Australia.

But again I don't think everyone is getting an email so if you have Aussie customers should log in and check for the red warning banner. Actually as long and you are taking time to log in, I would go a head double check everything and hit submit. (Kinda like the old pokes we used to be advised to do.)
 

Bishop

Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
3
I just checked my places listing and there is no warning to update info.
So i have nothing to worry about?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Happy dance gone. New maps shows "business listings supplied by Yellow Pages". :_(

:(

I just checked my places listing and there is no warning to update info.
So i have nothing to worry about?

It's only for Australia. I don't remember where you are from. The forum location just says earth? But yes if no warning or email then this issue does not affect you.
 

Margaret Ornsby

Local Search Expert
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
503
Reaction score
231
I've had them cropping up sporadically across client's accounts, so the messages are still going out. If Bishop is in AU, then he may yet get one. Hard to say.
The accounts I am seeing them pop up in so far, are the ones where there is or has been a data issue (merged, multiple listings, etc). I think this is G trying to get AU up to scratch data wise. Much needed.:)
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
Linda Buquet Log Into Google My Business or Your Listing May Be Deleted Google My Business & Google Maps 1
djbaxter Google's new reCaptcha v3 may help with fake reviews Websites, Software, and Security 1
djbaxter Google Explains Why Singular and Plurals May Rank Differently Organic SEO 1
djbaxter Tables may hurt you in today's Google search rankings Organic SEO 0
J New Free Google Title Tag Tool for May 2016 SERP Update Local SEO Tools & Software 7
Dustybones Google Earth Imagery Updates for May 2015 Google My Business & Google Maps 0
3 Google Business Photos May Correlate With Higher Local Search Ranking Google Business View 5
360 Spin Google Business Photos May Correlate With Higher Local Search Ranking Google My Business & Google Maps 5
Linda Buquet Head's Up! New Google Maps Update Coming - May Affect Local SEO Google My Business & Google Maps 15
Linda Buquet Google May Charge for Google+ Custom URLs - Invites Rolling Out Local Search 4
Local Search News Curator Google Places Forum Roundup ? Hottest Recent Threads you May have Missed Recycle Bin 0
Jeffrey Taylor Adding a new category to Google my Business Google My Business & Google Maps 4
david.victor Attribute used as Category by Google on Maps NAP, Categories, Dashboard Data 0
M Google Search Console Errors "Coverage and Breadcrumbs"? Google My Business & Google Maps 4
Lachlan_Wells Accept/Discard Google Updates - Does this feature work for you? NAP, Categories, Dashboard Data 2
E "Duplicate" Profile That Google Claims We Already Manage? Google Duplicates & Merges 5
T Can a Credit Union Create Google Posts Without Falling Under Prohibited Content? Google My Business & Google Maps 4
djbaxter Google My Business Bug Dropping SAB Businesses In Independence, Kansas Service Area Businesses 1
JamesGreenaway Google Insights query Google My Business & Google Maps 1
RobertCarnitas Google Posts Live on GMB, But Not Showing in GMB Dashboard Google My Business & Google Maps 1
rickvidallon How Do You Access The Buttons In Google My Business For Online Services? Local Search 4
NexstarNickR Google Star Rating: LSA vs. GMB All Things Google My Business [PRIVATE] (LocalU) 2
Phil Rozek Google Maps reviews get "New" label for reviews less than 1 month old Local Reviews 5
JoyHawkins Get Live Inventory Displayed on Your Google My Business Listing Google My Business & Google Maps 6
JoyHawkins Google Testing 2-Packs on Mobile Google News: Important Changes & Features 4
Paul Gregory Google Maps default location bias distance and the Google Maps Places API Google Algorithm Discussions 2
Chris Ratchford Google Analytics - setting up goals for click-to-call Organic SEO 2
L Google ranking in Legal Field Organic SEO 1
Cherie Dickey Something funny going on in Google Maps... am I missing something? Google My Business & Google Maps 1
hajnasiewicz Google Marketing Kit: Create Video Local Content 3
S Google LSA Lead Board - How to manage? Paid Search and Local Service Ads 1
krystaltaing Google My Business Bulk Verification Limit Reached? Multi-Location Issues 0
K Unable to get verified in Google for SAB Local Search 14
Matt Chauhan Google Maps showing category that doesn't even exist Local Search 1
djbaxter Brightlocal Tool shows Large Google Local Search Algorithm Update March 10, 2021 Google Algorithm Discussions 1
D Local Services and Google my Business Paid Search and Local Service Ads 2
F Google Maps Citation confusion? Google My Business & Google Maps 3
K Google requiring storefront photos Google Duplicates & Merges 4
Rich Owings Google community challenge to update 100,000 businesses Google My Business & Google Maps 0
cleverlyengaged Advice on Landmarks/POI/Unclaimed Google Map Locations? Google My Business & Google Maps 6
R What steps should I take to get my suspended and denied Google My business approved? Help & Support for Google Local 1
Jac Google My business Photos - Uploaded but not reflecting on contribution page Google My Business & Google Maps 3
AndySimpson Google My Business Opening Date - What Date Should You Use? Google My Business & Google Maps 2
Lanerizz Google Analytics 4 Organic SEO 1
M Google Local Services Ads - Lack of Leads Paid Search and Local Service Ads 14
rustybrick Google Local ranking update? Google Algorithm Discussions 12
harmony How Does Google Choose Service Options in a Review? Local Reviews 6
abbiebeltran Google Reviews Now Have 'Service-Testimonial-Tags' at the Top Local Reviews 1
Tim Colling I'm getting calls from "Google Maps" at 650-206-5555, asking about clients' hours - are they legit? Google My Business & Google Maps 14
JoshuaMackens Google Posts & Ranking Local Search 10

Similar threads

Login / Register

Already a member?   LOG IN
Not a member yet?   REGISTER

Most UpVoted Answers

Trending: Most Viewed

LocalU Podcasts

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...
Google Product Exert


Top Bottom