More threads by mfish

mfish

Reaction score
I'm a residential mortgage loan officer and it's hard to compete on a national level with all the major national players like Rocket Mortgage and lead aggregator companies that run PPC ads, so I'm currently not interested in standard Google PPC ads. I feel that I have a better chance on a local level and my Google Business profile has 104 reviews, is verified, fully optimized and has a local physical location pin. I'm sure I'll hear dissenting opinions that I can compete, at least on a local level, with standard PPC ads but I want to start somewhere. In the future I may revisit standard PPC.

So I'm interested in running Google Ads that only show in the 3 Pack / Maps via the location association asset. In other words my Google business profile shows at the top of the 3 pack. I already am in the top spot in roughly a 2 mile radius from my physical location but that doesn't bring in enough business, so I'd target locations in 2 - 20 mile radius from my physical location. I know the further I go out, even with a substantial ad budget, my physical proximity to the searcher will diminish the ability for my ad to show the farther they are from me. I'm thinking 20 miles it about the furthest out I have a chance of showing.

I did also look into Google Local Services / Google Guaranteed Ads but these are not available in the mortgage space unfortunately. Maybe in the future Google will add this vertical which would be great.

Is there any official way to only run ads in the 3-Pack / Maps? From my research it sounds like this isn't possible in any official capacity.