Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Moderator
LocalU Faculty
Top Poster Of Month
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,860
Solutions
4
Reaction score
1,998
Just in the process of combing through the new Google My Business Help Center and thought this was insightful:


  • Suite or office numbers may be added after your street name and number. For example: “145 Main St., Suite 120, London, E1 1AA”
No reference to Address Line 2.

https://support.google.com/business/answer/2853879?hl=en-GB&ref_topic=4596754
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
I was hoping that we could get some clarification on the suite # and where to add it. There is conflicting information between the two sources.
Google Places Guidelines specifically state line 2
https://support.google.com/business/answer/3038177?hl=en&ref_topic=4540086

As Colin pointed out the My Business Guidelines do not specify:
https://support.google.com/business/answer/2853879?hl=en-GB&ref_topic=4596754

I ask this question because there are many instances where the suite #
1. does not display on the Google+ page
2. is removed when the listing is pin code verified

I know that I can add to Map Maker - which unfortunately displays at the beginning of the address but I feel that there might be a larger issue behind the suite dissapearing from the listing.

Does anyone have any experience with this issue?

Thank you in advance
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Hi Brandon,

Welcome and thanks for joining and posting.

I'll try to remember to ask Google later today if Colan has not yet. Might just be an oversight with the update. Or could be a change they have not mentioned.

My inbox is totally buried. Need to play catch up.

Colan have you asked about this or found out any more, before I bother Google again, because I think they are swamped like me due to the launch.
 

Phil Rozek

Local Search Expert
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
1,933
Solutions
15
Reaction score
1,530
Great catch, Colan! I've always suspected Google isn't too high-strung about whether the suite # is on line 1 or line 2. This seems to corroborate that a little.
 

Colan Nielsen

Administrator
Moderator
LocalU Faculty
Top Poster Of Month
Joined
Jul 19, 2012
Messages
3,860
Solutions
4
Reaction score
1,998
Haven't had a chance to ask Google for clarification. But I will as soon as I can.

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Colan asked Google management and I chimed in and linked to this post and alerted to Brandon's Qs/concerns.
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Great catch Colan! You earned your TC stripes now! :)

Thanks for letting everyone know.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2014
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Thank you everyone for the clarification. That was Fast!

Does anyone else have any experience with the suite # not displaying? or being removed when the listing is verified?
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
Happens often. If what's in dash and live is different best option is to call support.

Especially for Suite# because if you try to add in MM it will usually do it backwards.
 

Linda Buquet

Moderator
Local Search Expert
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
13,312
Reaction score
4,241
You are very welcome and welcome once again.

Call this your home away from home! :p
 

Login / Register

Already a member?   LOG IN
Not a member yet?   REGISTER

Most UpVoted Answers

LocalU

  Promoted Posts

New advertising option: A review of your product or service posted by a Sterling Sky employee. This will also be shared on the Sterling Sky & LSF Twitter accounts, our Facebook group, LinkedIn, and both newsletters. More...
Google Product Exert


Top Bottom